Native states (zelfbesturen) in  Dutch Borneo, 1900


The Tanah Boemboe states had been ceded by Banjarmasin to the Dutch as directly ruled territories but were then restored to their original rulers who ruled as agents of the colonial government.  They were small states, with populations ranging from six hundred to two thousand.

Meliau and Boenoet were annexed as directly ruled states in 1909, the eight small states of Pinoh in 1913, and much of Semitau in 1916.

Further reading

King, Victor T., The peoples of Borneo. Oxford: Blackwell, 1993.

Year span

1900 - 1900