Javanese territories ceded to the colonial governments of Daendels and Raffles, 1808-1812


Daendels did away with the rent paid to Surakarta in exchange for Dutch occupation of the north coast, and forced both Yogyakarta and Surakarta to cede further territories to the colonial government, but the cession was completed in 1812, when the British were in power.

Further reading

Anrooy, F. van, Herman Willem Daendels 1762-1818: Geldersman, patriot, Jacobijn, generaal, hereboer, maarschalk, gouverneur: van Hattem naar St. George del Mina. Utrecht:  Matrijs, 1991.

Map number from Cribb, Historical Atlas of Indonesia (2000)


Year span

1808 - 1812