Java administrative divisions, 1901-1924


In 1901 the residencies of Tegal, Djapara, Bagelen and Probolinggo and the assistant-residency of Krawang were abolished. They were absorbed into Pekalongan, Semarang, Kedoe, Pasoeroean and Batavia respectively.

Further reading

Java en Madoera. Batavia: Topografische Inrichting, 1923. [MIKO 2642]

Topografische residentiekaarten van Java. The Hague: Topografische Inrichting, 1869-1914. [MIKO B2].

Sutherland, Heather, The making of a bureaucratic elite: the colonial transformation of the Javanese priyayi. Singapore: Heinemann, 1979.

Map number from Cribb, Historical Atlas of Indonesia (2000)


Year span

1901 - 1924