Constitutional division of the Netherlands Indies, 1909


The authority of the Inlandsch Bestuur extended only to the directly ruled territories; the title of the most senior category of Inlandsch Bestuur official in most regions is shown. The spelling used on this map is that of 1909.

Further reading

Bongenaar, Karel E.M., De ontwikkeling van het zelfbesturend landschap in Nederlandsch-Indiƫ: 1855-1942 ; Dl. 1: 1855-1942. Zutphen: Walburg Pers, 2005.

Kleintjes, Ph., Staatsinstellingen van Nederlandsch-Indiƫ. Amsterdam: De Bussy, 6th ed., 1932-1933, 2 vols.

Map number from Cribb, Historical Atlas of Indonesia (2000)


Year span

1909 - 1909